COVID-19 Response

The organizations that make up Health Data Research Network Canada (HDRN Canada) hold population-wide health data and have a role to play in accelerating, and increasing the quality of, COVID-19 analytics, predictive models and research studies.

HDRN Canada organizations create and manage population-wide health and health-related data infrastructure that is used by a network of hundreds of expert analysts and researchers across Canada. If/when HDRN Canada organizations are able to link COVID-19 test results with existing data platforms, it will be possible to have more meaningful interpretation of COVID-19 data.  For example, in addition to counting/forecasting the number of COVID-19 cases, we will be able to draw upon decades of experience to add a layer of analyses/understanding related to health conditions, demographic factors and prior health system utilization.

HDRN Canada can also play a role in bringing together collaborators on COVID-19 analytics, predictive models and research studies so that they include multiple provinces and territories.

Status Update on HDRN Canada Organizations with COVID-19 Test Results Data and Analyses/Model/Studies Related to COVID-19

As of May 28, 2020

Some HDRN Canada organizations have linkable COVID-19 test results data

  • Four (4) provinces (NL, AB, MB, ON) have COVID-19 test result data integrated into their data platforms
  • BC and NL are beginning to process COVID-related data access requests, and will be able to provide COVID-19 test results data to researchers
  • Multiple other HDRN Canada organizations are in discussions about obtaining COVID-19 test result data

HDRN Canada organizations are gathering information about COVID-related analytics applications, predictive models and research studies that use jurisdiction-wide or population-wide data.

  • Thus far, 21 different types of COVID-related analytics/research have been identified, comprising more than 47 individual analyses/models/studies

We are also gathering information about COVID-relevant data holdings and resources, including:

  • CIHI’s COVID 19 intervention scan provides comprehensive information for key policies and interventions across federal, provincial and territorial governments. The scan covers case finding and management, physical distancing, health workforce, health services, and travel restrictions as well as contextual information, such as the timing of spring breaks. The scan is in the form of a table that lists the date measures were first announced or implemented in each province, intervention details and a link to an official source. The scan is updated regularly and will be released on CIHI’s website.  An early version can be requested by emailing CPHI@cihi.ca
  • Through a partnership between the Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Health Information (NLCHI), the Department of Fisheries and Land Resources and the NL Stats Agency, a COVID-19 Data Hub has launched that provides accurate and timely information and data about the COVID-19 pandemic. This page is updated daily and includes an interactive map of the distribution of COVID-19 cases across the province, graphs displaying the spread of the virus, and information on the number of cases, hospitalization, recoveries, deaths, and tests completed. ESRI named this initiative their app for the month for May.  Available at: https://covid-19-newfoundland-and-labrador-gnl.hub.arcgis.com

Download the latest HDRN Canada COVID-19 Briefing Note.

Previous Briefing Notes

HDRN Canada Organization Resources

CIHI COVID-19 Resources, Canadian Institute for Health Information including the links below.  Please visit the CIHI COVID-19 Resources site for a complete list of resources compiled by CIHI.

Other Resources

WHO Case report form - this indicates what information is being collected and shared, and could inform a baseline of a cross-provincial minimum data set for cases. 

International Roundtable on AI and COVID-19, CIFAR

Register for Updates

Please fill out the form below to receive news and updates related to COVID-19.

Réponse à la COVID-19

Les membres du Réseau de recherche sur les données de santé du Canada (RRDS Canada) possèdent des données sur la santé des Canadiens et contribuent à accélérer et à améliorer les travaux d’analyse, de modélisation prédictive et de recherche relatifs à la COVID-19.

Ils mettent en place et gèrent une infrastructure de données sur la santé et relatives à la santé de la population utilisée par des centaines d’experts en analyse et en recherche au pays. Si les membres du RRDS Canada pouvaient relier les résultats des tests de dépistage de la COVID-19 aux données existantes, il serait possible d’approfondir notre interprétation de l’information. Par exemple, en plus de compter et de prévoir le nombre de cas de COVID-19, nous pourrions produire des analyses à partir des décennies de connaissances accumulées sur les maladies, les facteurs démographiques et l’utilisation du système de santé pour améliorer notre compréhension de la situation.

Par ailleurs, le RRDS Canada est également en mesure de rassembler des collaborateurs des quatre coins du Canada autour de diverses activités d’analyse, de modélisation prédictive et de recherche.

Le point sur l’accès des membres du RRDS Canada aux résultats des tests de dépistage de la COVID-19 pour réaliser des travaux d’analyse, de modélisation et de recherche

Le 28 mai 2020

Certains membres du RRDS Canada possèdent des données sur les résultats des tests de dépistage de la COVID-19 pouvant être couplées.

  • Quatre (4) provinces (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, le Manitoba, l’Alberta et l’Ontario) ont intégré les données sur les résultats des tests de dépistage de la COVID-19 dans leur plateforme de données.
  • La Colombie-Britannique et la Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador commencent à traiter les demandes d’accès aux données liées à la COVID-19 ainsi qu’à intégrer les données sur les résultats des tests de dépistage dans sa plateforme de données.
  • De nombreux autres membres du RRDS Canada sont en discussion pour obtenir ces données.

Les membres du RRDS Canada recueillent de l’information sur les applications d’analyse, les modèles prédictifs et les études qui utilisent des données sur la COVID-19 à l’échelle de la province ou de la population, 

  • Jusqu’à présent, 21 travaux d’analyse ou de recherche liés à la COVID-19, dont plus de 47 analyses, modélisations et études, ont été trouvés.

Nous recueillons également de l’information sur les banques de données et les ressources liées à la COVID-19, notamment les suivantes :

  • L’analyse des mesures d’intervention liées à la COVID-19 de l’ICIS présente des renseignements exhaustifs sur les principales politiques et mesures mises en place par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux. Elle aborde le dépistage et la gestion des cas, la distanciation physique, la main-d’œuvre de la santé, les services de santé et les restrictions relatives aux déplacements, et fournit de l’information contextuelle comme la date de la semaine de relâche. Présentée sous forme de tableau, elle précise en outre les dates d’annonce ou de mise en œuvre des mesures dans chaque autorité compétente ainsi que la nature de l’intervention, et fournit un lien vers une source officielle. L’analyse fait l’objet d’une mise à jour périodique et sera publiée sur le site Web de l’ICIS. Il est possible d’en obtenir une version préliminaire en écrivant à ISPC@icis.ca.
  • Dans le cadre d’un partenariat, le Newfoundland and Labrador Centre for Health Information (NLCHI), le ministère des Pêches et des Ressources terrestres et l’Agence de la statistique de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont lancé un portail de données sur la COVID-19 qui fournit de l’information et des données exactes et actuelles sur la pandémie de COVID-19. Mise à jour quotidiennement, la page Web contient une carte interactive sur la répartition des cas de COVID-19 dans la province, des graphiques illustrant la propagation du virus et des renseignements concernant le nombre de cas, d’hospitalisations, de rétablissements, de décès et de tests de dépistage effectués. ESRI a décerné le titre d’Application du mois à cette initiative pour le mois de mai. Lien : https://covid-19-newfoundland-and-labrador-gnl.hub.arcgis.com

Télécharger la dernière note d’information sur la COVID-19 du RRDS Canada

Notes d'information précédentes

Ressources des membres du RRDS Canada

Ressources sur la COVID-19 de l’ICIS, incluant les liens ci-dessous (veuillez visiter le site de ressources sur la COVID-19 de l’ICIS pour obtenir la liste complète des ressources compilées par l’ICIS)

Autres ressources

Formulaire de signalement des cas de l’OMS – ce document indique les renseignements recueillis et communiqués; il pourrait servir de base pour un fichier minimal de données interprovinciales. 

Table ronde internationale sur l’IA et la COVID-19, CIFAR

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir des nouvelles

Remplissez le formulaire ci-dessous pour recevoir des nouvelles et mises à jour sur la COVID-19.